Names of Countries in Seven Languages

This resource is offered by Kotus, Kotimaisten kielten keskus, the Institute for the Languages of Finland. The website contains the names of the independent states of the world and their geographically separate regions in 7 languages. The list includes also Western Sahara, Palestine, Hong Kong, Macau, Taiwan, Antarctica and the 21 republics of the Russian Federation. Also the official names of the countries as well as commonly used unofficial names are included.

Each name is presented on a separate page in Finnish, Swedish, Northern Sami, English, French, German and Russian.

Latest versions/subcorpora:  
Names of Countries in Seven Languages
icon-info-circle Metadata and license
icon-quote-right Attribution instructions
Open the website
Search for all versions in META-SHARE  

Detailed information on the content of each version, user rights and licenses can be found from it’s specific metadata record in META-SHARE.

This resource group page has a Persistent Identifier:

Search the Language Bank Portal:
Krister Lindén
Researcher of the Month: Krister Lindén


Upcoming events


The Language Bank's technical support:
kielipankki (at)
tel. +358 9 4572001

Requests related to language resources:
fin-clarin (at)
tel. +358 29 4129317

More contact information