Names of Countries in Seven Languages

This resource is offered by Kotus, Kotimaisten kielten keskus, the Institute for the Languages of Finland. The website contains the names of the independent states of the world and their geographically separate regions in 7 languages. The list includes also Western Sahara, Palestine, Hong Kong, Macau, Taiwan, Antarctica and the 21 republics of the Russian Federation. Also the official names of the countries as well as commonly used unofficial names are included.

Each name is presented on a separate page in Finnish, Swedish, Northern Sami, English, French, German and Russian.

Latest versions/subcorpora:
Names of Countries in Seven Languages
icon-info-circle Metadata and license
icon-quote-right Attribution instructions
Open the website
Search for these versions in META-SHARE

Of this language corpus different versions are (or might be in the future) published in the Language Bank of Finland. The versions are available through the Language Bank Download Service and/or through the Korp concordance tool, or they are offered by another member organisation of FIN-CLARIN. The links to the different versions can be found from the list above.

Detailed information on the content of each version, user rights and licenses can be found from it’s specific metadata record in META-SHARE.

This resource group page has a Persistent Identifier: